Book Title(s)Red Rising, Golden Son, and Morning Star rise-helmet

SeriesRed Rising


Author Pierce Brown

If you’re a fan of Sci-Fi, go and buy all three books. Now.

The series is well written, with deep and nuanced characters and a plot that managed to surprise without being annoying. Whilst on the surface the premise seems to be one previously traversed all too frequently – dude/dudette rises from the oppressed masses to overthrow the evil baddies – the plot soon nosedives into a rich world full of complexity and surprising twists.

Brown’s ability to elicit emotion was masterful, at times making me grin like an idiot, to being outright pissed-off. Unlike a lot of stories, the antagonists were – mostly – interesting characters, whose actions were driven by morality and meaningful events throughout the trilogy, not simply by a misplaced God complex.

Worst bits?
Just before the ending.

Best bits?
The ending. Damn you, Brown.

Memorable quotes
‘Man cannot be freed by the same injustice that enslaved it.’

‘Home isn’t where you’re from, it’s where you find light when all grows dark.’

‘I will die. You will die. We will all die and the universe will carry on without care. All that we have is that shout into the wind – how we live. How we go. And how we stand before we fall.’

Useful info
Check out Goodreads for more reviews by clicking here to take you to the first book, Red Rising.